This website places cookies on your device to help us improve our service to you. To find out more, see our Privacy and Cookies statement.

Skip to page content

About us

The Board

There are 13 places on the NHS Education for Scotland Board of which 9 are non-executive and 4 are executive. All board members are appointed by the Health Minister.

The role of the NES Board can be summarised as follows:

  • to set strategic direction, define annual and longer term objectives and agree plans to achieve them;
  • to ensure that plans and performance are responsive to staff and stakeholder needs;
  • to oversee the delivery of planned results by monitoring performance against objectives;
  • to ensure effective financial stewardship;
  • to ensure high standards of governance and conduct throughout the NES organisation;
  • to appoint, appraise and remunerate senior executives.

Non-Executive Board Members

Executive Board Members

  • Karen Wilson - Director of NMAHP (Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health Professions)
  • Professor Stewart Irvine - Acting Chief Executive
  • Audrey McColl - Director of Finance and Acting Deputy Chief Executive
  • Professor Rowan Parks - Acting Medical Director