skip to main content

NHS Education for Scotland

A skilled and sustainable workforce for a healthier Scotland

Meet our 2021 Scottish Pharmacy Clinical Leadership Fellows

Meet our 2021 Scottish Pharmacy Clinical Leadership Fellows

Meet our 2021 Scottish Pharmacy Clinical Leadership Fellows

The 2021 group of Scottish Pharmacy Clinical Leadership Fellows has been announced.

The Scottish Pharmacy Clinical Leadership Fellowship scheme (SPCLF) was launched in 2018. In the following years the scheme has evolved and been successful in supporting the development of future pharmacy leaders and taking forward strategic objectives to improve the pharmaceutical care of patients in Scotland.

The scheme aims to provide NHS Scotland with the next group of senior pharmacists and pharmacy technicians who are committed to pharmacy development and have enhanced capability to offer strategic leadership in their workplace and at national and international level.

Our five Fellows, will be working on projects related to advanced practice for Pharmacy Technicians, digital capability/e-prescribing, pharmacogenomics,  hospital electronic prescribing (HEPMA) and drug related deaths during their fellowship year. They are:

  • Jennifer Crawford (NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde) - HEPMA
  • Vikki Laing (Boots NHS Fife) – Substance misuse and reducing drug related deaths
  • Michael Mitchell (NHS Lanarkshire) Digital capability and electronic prescribing
  • Linda Henderson (NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde) – Advanced Practice for Pharmacy Technicians
  • Jill Swan (NHS Ayrshire and Arran) – Pharmacogenomics

Professor Alison Strath, Chief Pharmaceutical Officer, Scottish Government said:

“The COVID-19 pandemic and the recovery and renewal of Scotland’s health service brings into sharp focus the need for strong and resilient clinical leadership across the health and social care system. Since its introduction, the Pharmacy Clinical Fellows scheme has contributed to strengthening our professional leadership capability.   This current cohort will have a vital role in developing these innovative areas of pharmacy practice and are key to helping us achieve our vision for pharmacy as an integral and enhanced part of a modern NHS in Scotland’.

Professor Anne Watson, NES Postgraduate Pharmacy Dean said:

“We look forward to co-ordinating and hosting the fourth cohort of Scottish Clinical Pharmacy Fellows again as part of this exciting opportunity. I am sure that the individuals involved will be hugely successful in these roles and will be leaders in the profession of the future. They will drive forward key areas of pharmacy service and professional development in Scotland. We look forward to also linking them with the other clinical leadership Fellows from England as well as from the Medical and Dental professions in Scotland.”

Seconded to NHS Education for Scotland for 3 days a week, the newly appointed Fellows will spend the next 12 months working closely with Scottish Government, NHS Scotland pharmacy leaders and other key stakeholders to take forward these crucial areas of work. They will be provided with national leadership training, coaching and mentorship and will undertake a tailored development programme with other professions including Medicine and Dentistry.


Image, left to right: Jennifer Crawford, Vikki Laing, Michael Mitchell, Jill Swan, Linda Henderson. 


September, 10 2021