This website places cookies on your device to help us improve our service to you. To find out more, see our Privacy and Cookies statement.

Skip to page content

Dentistry

Quality Improvement in Practice Training Team (QIiPT)

Infection Control and Decontamination

Effective decontamination and infection control is reliant on each team member knowing what they should do and having the skills to put this knowledge into practice. 

In-Practice Training

The in-practice training session has been developed to help support all NHS practices, in Scotland, in implementing current infection control and decontamination guidance. The training session which lasts approximately 3hrs is a blend of PowerPoint presentation and practical. It will cover the following areas; hand hygiene, cleaning instruments, environmental cleaning and the testing and maintenance of decontamination equipment.

As the training is suitable for the whole dental team, all members of staff in the practice are requested to attend. The NES team will require access to clinical areas and the local decontamination unit. An area for the delivery of a short presentation and discussions is also required.

The main point of the training is to enable practices to look at their existing processes and to consider any changes required to improve and thus bring the practice closer to the requirements of current guidance. Formulating an agreed action plan detailing timescales and responsibilities is an essential component of the training.

The NES team will arrange a follow-up date around 8 weeks after the training to find out how the action plan is progressing and provide advice and support if there have been any difficulties in delivering the action plan.

All participating dentists, who are eligible, will be able to claim CPD allowance for the 3 hour session. Participation in a training session will be recorded in your CPD history in Portal.

To book the training session, please contact Natalya Zhernakova on 0141 531 2642 or email natalya.zhernakova@nes.scot.nhs.uk 

Short online programmes

Short online programmes which could be used as part of induction or as refresher training are available via the NES Portal at https://www.portal.scot.nhs.uk/.
Further infection prevention and control related online modules are provided by the Healthcare Associated Infections team and are available on LearnPro. Click here to visit the website for more information.

Framework to Support Staff Development in the Decontamination of Re-usable Medical Devices

A Framework to Support Staff Development in the Decontamination of Re-usable Medical Devices, which is applicable to staff working in NHS Boards and the independent sector, including general dental practices, has been developed by NHS Education for Scotland to support those who undertake, manage or are responsible for decontamination activities.

Contact the QIiPT team 

WEST

Irene Black, Assistant Director - 0141 531 2621,                                                 irene.black@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Christine Young, Infection Control Nurse Adviser - 0141 531 2628, christine.young@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Gillian Irvine, Infection Control Nurse Adviser - 0141 531 2602,                 gillian.irvine@nes.scot.nhs.uk 

Laura Wilson, QIiPT Tutor - 0141 531 2649, laura.wilson@nes.scot.nhs.uk
Lee McArthur, QIiPT Tutor - 0141 531 2635, lee.mcarthur@nes.scot.nhs.uk
Lynne Cotter, QIiPT Tutor - 0141 531 2647, lynne.cotter@nes.scot.nhs.uk
Gillian Dougan, QIiPT Tutor - 0141 531 2643, gillian.dougan@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Natalya Zhernakova, QIiPT Administrator - 0141 531 2642, natalya.zhernakova@nes.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Education for Scotland
Ground Floor 2 Central Quay
89 Hydepark Street
Glasgow
G3 8BW 


SOUTH-EAST

Karin Laidlaw, QIiPT Tutor - 0131 5363101, karin.laidlaw@nes.scot.nhs.uk
Fiona Elder, QIiPT Tutor - 0131 5363102, fiona.elder@nes.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Education for Scotland
Edinburgh Dental Education Centre
4th floor, Lauriston Building
Lauriston Place
EDINBURGH
EH3 9HA 


NORTH-EAST

Lucy Mitchell, QIiPT Tutor - 01224 551590, lucy.mitchell@nes.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Education for Scotland
Aberdeen Dental Education Centre,
Argyll House, Foresterhill, Cornhill Road
Aberdeen
AB25 2ZR


EAST

Margaret Lornie, QIiPT Tutor - 01382 740996, margaret.lornie@nes.scot.nhs.uk
Margaret Paul, QIiPT Tutor - 01382 740995, margaret.paul@nes.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Education for Scotland
Dundee Dental Education Centre
Frankland Building
Smalls Wynd
Dundee
DD1 4HN


NORTH

Tommy MacGregor, QIiPT Tutor - 01463 255726, tommy.macgregor@nes.scot.nhs.uk

NHS Education for Scotland
1st Floor
Centre for Health Science
Old Perth Road
Inverness
IV2 3JH